Alice- Halswell


Bachelor in Teaching and Learning – ECE

On maternity leave from Jan 2021

Hi, my name is Alice. I hold a Bachelor of Teaching and Learning, Early Childhood and have been caring for children for many years as a Nanny, Early Childhood Teacher and more recently a Mum. My partner Brad and I, along with our daughter Emilia and cat Tilly live in Halswell.

From my experience as a teacher and since becoming a Mum I have seen the importance of having low ratio care in a safe, loving and warm ‘home away from home’ environment.  I am confident that the best way for children to learn and grow is by having a trusting relationship with their carer. To gain a positive relationship the key for me is RESPECT, not doing ‘to’ a child but doing ‘with’ them, allowing them the freedom to move without restraints, communication, positive guidance and acknowledging and talking through their emotions. Through all of this I believe a calm, caring, and loving partnership is developed where the child feels safe and happy to play and learn to their full potential.

I provide an indoor outdoor flow to the environment where the children are free to explore and play with supervision. I have calm and familiar spaces for sleep times and will begin to create a ritual for meal times with the help of the children.  My collection of resources will be forever growing, I am a strong believer of open ended resources (loose parts) which allows the children have endless play opportunities to make choices, create, imagine, manipulate, problem solve, work alongside others and most importantly have fun.

Halswell is a lovely family community with so many areas to explore. In my program my priority will be to meet each child’s needs. Along with that I plan to visit the local parks, forest education, attend local music/story times, play dates, nature walks and provide a relaxed space at home where the children have the time and space to explore where they choose.

 I am very passionate about children’s learning and development and am continually looking to improve and grow in what I provide and how I care for children. I am excited to start my journey with Organic Kids and grow as a home based educator. I hope to make each child’s time with me fun, relaxed and memorable.  I am looking forward to meeting new families and sharing more about myself and what I offer.





Opening Hours

Monday – Thursday, Flexible times